Music Industry News Network [01-13-2013]

The Musicians' Union EC Elects First Female Chair

The Musicians' Union (MU) Executive Committee has elected Kathy Dyson as its first female Chair.

Kathy, who has been a member of the MU Executive Committee for ten years, is an esteemed jazz guitarist and has a broad breadth of experience within the music industry.

The MU Executive Committee is made up of twenty working musicians, elected by the MU membership, who oversee and scrutinise all of the MU's activities and decisions.

Kathy Dyson, MU Executive Committee Chair, says "It is a great honour to have been elected as Chair of the Executive Committee at such an important time for musicians and the wider music industry. It is also a historic moment for the MU, which has its first female Executive Committee Chair, and I would like to take the opportunity to urge other female MU members to become active in the running of their union."

John Smith, MU General Secretary, says "I am delighted to welcome Kathy Dyson as our new Executive Committee Chair. In this historic year where the union is celebrating its 120th anniversary, it is fitting that we should have appointed our first female EC Chair."


Copyright © 1997-2018 MusicDish LLC, all rights reserved. Text, graphics, and HTML code are protected by US and International Copyright Laws, and may not be copied, reprinted, published, translated, hosted, or otherwise distributed by any means without explicit permission.