Music Industry News Network [05-28-2014]

LEE BAINS III & THE GLORY FIRES KICK-OFF SUMMER 2014 TOUR JUNE 4TH IN BIRMINGHAM IN SUPPORT OF THEIR NEW SOPHOMORE ALBUM DERECONSTRUCTED

Url: http://thegloryfires.com

MI2N www.mi2n.com
HERE'S WHAT PEOPLE HAVE ALREADY BEEN SAYING ABOUT LEE BAINS III & THE GLORY FIRES' "DERECONSTRUCTED"...

"Lee Bains III & the Glory Fires, a four-man band from Alabama, proudly join the Southern-rock tradition of wild-eyed music hitched to serious deliberation. Dereconstructed, the band’s second album, ponders Southern identity in a welter of cranked-up guitars, bristling drums and rasping, hollering vocals. It’s pandemonium with a conscience." - Jon Pareles / NEW YORK TIMES

"If there's one tradition Bains and the Glory Fires unquestioningly uphold, it's the Friday-night custom of burning down the house. They even once got thrown out of a club for being too loud. In Texas. 'We're going to wash ourselves in fire and water,' Bains announces in 'Burnpiles and Swimming Holes.' Dereconstructed is worth the plunge. - Ann Powers / NPR

[4 out of 5 stars] "As pure a shot of adrenaline as a guitar band will release this year… a terrific album." - Michael Hann / THE GUARDIAN

"Sounds like Flannery O'Connor gave up fiction for a Coors and a Gibson SG." - Jessica Suarez / ROLLING STONE

"A radical, literate update of Southern rock." - John Mulvey / UNCUT

"A raging burnpile of garage and Southern rock, dirty, supercharged blues and soul, Stonesy groove, Crazy Horse howl, and punk slam. With these songs, Bains surely wants to make you think; he surely will make you shake." - Stuart Munro / THE BOSTON GLOBE

"Four Birmingham boys have made what might be the greatest-ever rock record about the South." - Chuck Reece / THE BITTER SOUTHERNER

"Dereconstructed is the second album from Bains and his personal wrecking crew, and they fling themselves into these 10 songs with roughly the same combustibility as tossing a lighted match into a pile of oily rags. It’s a dirty-sounding album, full of scuzzy red-line guitars and overdriven vocals, but even all that speaker-busting grit doesn’t hide the alluring melodies Bains threads among the mayhem." - Eric R. Danton / PASTE

"Dereconstructed is rebel's music, as God, the South and Joe Strummer intended." - Jim Desmond / WHEN YOU MOTOR AWAY

LEE BAINS III & THE GLORY FIRES SUMMER 2014 TOUR DATES (* w/ Diarrhea Planet)
Wed, June 4 – Bottletree, Birmingham, AL
Thu, June 5 – The Earl, Atlanta, GA
Fri, June 6 – Riverbend Festival, Chattanooga, TN
Mon, June 9 – Hi-Tone Cafe, Memphis, TN
Tue, June 10 – Tank Room, Kansas City, MO
Wed, June 11 – Larimer Lounge, Denver, CO
Thu, June 12 – The Garage, Salt Lake City, UT
Fri, June 13 – Neurolux, Boise, ID
Sat, June 14 – Rod and Gun Whitewater Saloon, Stanley, ID
Mon, June 16 – The Palace, Missoula, MT
Tue, June 17 – The Tractor, Seattle, WA
Wed, June 18 – Mississippi Studios, Portland, OR
Thu, June 19 – Sam Bond’s Garage, Eugene, OR
Fri, June 20 – Thee Parkside, San Francisco, CA
Sat, June 21 – Bootleg Hi-Fi, Los Angeles, CA
Sun, June 22 – Soda Bar, San Diego, CA
Mon, June 23 – The Western, Scottsdale, AZ
Wed, June 25 – Three Links, Dallas, TX *
Thu, June 26 – The Limelight, San Antonio, TX *
Fri, June 27 – Red 7, Austin, TX *
Sat, June 28 – Fitzgerald’s, Houston, TX *
Sun, June 29 – One Eyed Jack’s, New Orleans, LA *
Thu, July 10 - The Basement, Nashville, TN
Fri, July 11 - Zanzabar, Louisville, KY
Sat, July 12 - The Brass Rail, Fort Wayne, IN
Sun, July 13 - The Bishop, Bloomington, IN
Mon, July 14 - MOTR Pub, Cincinnati, OH
Tue, July 15 - The Smiling Moose, Pittsburgh, PA
Wed, July 16 - Great Scott, Boston, MA
Fri, July 18 - Mercury Lounge, New York, NY
Sat, July 19 - Asbury Lanes, Asbury Park, NJ
Sun, July 20 - Ortlieb’s Lounge, Philadelphia, PA
Mon, July 21 - DC9, Washington, DC
Tue, July 22 - Strange Matter, Richmond, VA
Thu, July 24 - The Milestone, Charlotte, NC
Fri, July 25 - King’s, Raleigh, NC
Sat, July 26 - Bragg Jam, Macon, GA
Fri, August 1- OFF Festival, Katowice, POLAND
Sat, August 2 - Storsjoyran, Ostersund, SWEDEN
Wed, August 6 - Crossroads, Oslo, NORWAY
Fri, August 8 - Way Out West, Goteborg, SWEDEN
Sat, August 9 - Bjurfors Hotel, Avesta, SWEDEN
Sun, August 10 - Akkurat, Stockholm, SWEDEN
(additional dates to be announced soon)

FOR MORE INFO ON LEE BAINS III & THE GLORY FIRES:
http://thegloryfires.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Lee-Bains-III-The-Glory-Fires/148581995155439

FOR SUB POP QUERIES:
Frank Nieto: frankn@subpop.com

FOR MEDIA AND INTERVIEW REQUESTS:
Tony Bonyata
Pavement PR
p: 262.903.7775
e: bonyata@wi.rr.com
http://www.pavementpr.com

Source: http://www.mi2n.com/press.php3?press_nb=174387

Copyright © 1997-2018 MusicDish LLC, all rights reserved. Text, graphics, and HTML code are protected by US and International Copyright Laws, and may not be copied, reprinted, published, translated, hosted, or otherwise distributed by any means without explicit permission.