Music Industry News Network [03-08-2017]

25 Artists Up For Best Independent Album Of The Year In Europe


IMPALA has now revealed its shortlist of nominees for the seventh edition of the IMPALA Album of the Year Award. Once again the selection underlines the diversity and quality of independent labels from all over Europe. 25 albums are nominated and nineteen countries are represented this year.

Artists from every genre and generation are featured, from legendary UK act Radiohead to Swiss krautpop band One Sentence. Supervisor, Swedish progressive metal pioneers Meshuggah, Dutch rapper Boef and the new face of Italian disco Jolly Mare.

The voting is currently taking place to decide who will succeed to Jose Gonzalez's acclaimed album Vestiges & Claws. The winner will be announced at the end of February.

The nominated albums are listed in alphabetical order by artist/name of the album/record label:

Agnes Obel - Citizen of Glass (PIAS)
Bisse - Hřjlandet (Gateway Music)
Blood Orange - Freetown Sound (Domino Records)
Boef - Gewoon Boef (Zonamo Entertainment)
Claudio Capéo - Claudio Capéo (Jo and Co)
Danny Brown - Atrocity Exhibition (Warp)
Dubioza Kolektiv - Happy Machine (PIAS)
First Breath After Coma - Drifter (Omnichord Records)
Hangutazók - Indulj El (RNC Music / Egység Média)
Highasakite - Camp Echo (Propeller Recordings)
Jolly Mare - Mechanics (42 Records/Don't Panic)
Kase.O - El Círculo (BOA)
Klaus Johann Grobe - Spagat der Liebe (Cargo Records)
Lost Frequencies - Less Is More (Lost & Cie)
LUH - Spiritual Songs for Lovers to Sing (Mute Records)
Mark Ernestus' NDAGGA RHYTHM FORCE - Yermande (Ndagga)
Meshuggah - The Violent Sleep Of Reason (Nuclear Blast)
Mikko Joensuu - Amen 1 (Svart Record)
One Sentence. Supervisor - Temporär Musik 1-13 (Oh, Sister Records)
Oscar - Cut And Paste (Wichita Recordings)
The Radio Dept. - Running Out of Love (Labrador)
Radiohead - A Moon Shaped Pool (XL Recordings)
Sara Renar - Tišina (Aquarius Records)
Škrtice - Škrtice (Lampshade Media)
Židrūns - Židrūns un tas, ko nevar nest (I Love You Records)

Radiohead's A Moon Shaped Pool and Blood Orange's Freetown Sound have been cited two times and Agnes Obel's Citizen of Glass three times. Belgium label PIAS has two nominees: Dubioza Kolektiv and Agnes Obel.

Helen Smith, Executive Chair, IMPALA commented: "The essence of this prize is to put the spotlight on the most exceptional album of the year. It's a great shortlist again with both new faces and well-established independent artists. The jury will now decide which album they believe was the best in 2016".


Copyright © 1997-2018 MusicDish LLC, all rights reserved. Text, graphics, and HTML code are protected by US and International Copyright Laws, and may not be copied, reprinted, published, translated, hosted, or otherwise distributed by any means without explicit permission.